TEAM
Elena Agaeva
Counsel, Head of M&A and corporate practice (St. Petersburg)
Elena Agaeva

24 Nevsky Av.,
St. Petersburg, 191186, Russia

Tel.: +7 (812) 322 9681
Fax: +7 (812) 322 9682

elena_agaeva@epam.ru

V-card

Recognition

  • Chambers Europe (2014-2021)
  • The Legal 500 (2017-2021)
  • Best Lawyers (2009-2020)
  • IFLR1000 (2019-2021)
  • Kommersant (2022)
  • Pravo.ru-300 (2021-2022)

« The best-known transactional lawyer at the firm, and a key figure in the local market »

Chambers Europe

Elena provides legal support across a broad array of corporate, contract and employment law issues, including support in M&A deals, establishing, liquidating and reorganizing businesses, hiring and dismissing employees, recruiting foreign staff, conducting due diligence, drafting contracts, as well as routine support for clients in corporate and employment matters.

Elena also heads the Personal Data Protection Practice and advises international and domestic companies on matters of applying Russian laws on personal data, including in relation to data collection, localisation and processing. She conducts legal due diligence of business processes and contributes to optimal structuring of the same; she analyses and prepares documents on personal data processing, including local instruments, consents and agreements. Elena advises on implementing software to manage HR and CRM systems and represents clients before government authorities.

Elena’s notable M&A and corporate law projects include: 

  • Advising a number of international companies on matters of conducting business in Russia in view of external and internal restrictions.
  • Providing legal support to the world’s leading manufacturer of equipment for marine and power industries in connection with the sale of its business to the Russian top management.
  • Providing legal support to an international company selling its Russian assets to a partner in Russia.
  • Providing legal support to a large European producer of dairy products selling business to a Russian partner.
  • Providing legal support on corporate law, compliance and business restructuring opportunities to a major international DIY retailer.
  • Advising a major Finnish company on reorganisation of its business in Russia.
  • Support in business restructuring of Solntse Mekhiko and Mission Foods Stupino – Russian entities of the Gruma Group, the world’s major producer of corn flour, chips and tortillas. The work under the project included support in obtaining the status of a special economic zone (SEZ) resident in the context of investments in the plant built in the Moscow Region and involved approval of the agreement on conducting business in a SEZ by the Economic Development Ministry of the Russian Federation and other relevant agencies.
  • Advising Clarios, a global diversified technology company and one of the largest suppliers of automotive parts, electronics and equipment conducting business in 150 countries, in relation to a potential joint project between the client and its Russian partner.
  • Providing legal support to the world’s major container carrier in establishing a joint venture in Russia and on the options enabling cooperation of the JV with other group companies.
  • Providing comprehensive legal support to DynaEnergetics, the world’s leading producer and seller of oilfield equipment, in a multipurpose project for plant closing and selling a subsidiary in the Tyumen Region.
  • Providing legal support to FAM AB, a major Swedish holding company, in a cross-border transaction of more than US$ 580m for acquiring a structural division of Sandvik Process Systems. The project involved Russian law advice in the course of transaction structuring covering 17 jurisdictions, ongoing legal support throughout the project, rebranding and restructuring within the group, establishment of a new legal entity in Russia and legal counseling for the local company, including on finance structuring, support in business process setup and interaction with counterparties.
  • Providing legal assistance to Orolia Group, a French hi-tech association, in an M&A transaction in Russia. The project involved transaction structuring, preparation of documents, as well as advice on regulatory, IP and employee-related matters.
  • Providing legal support to Clemco International, the world’s major American company producing pneumatic blast equipment for all industries, on possible forms of conducting business in Russia and other corporate matters.
  • Advising EDS Group AS, a Norwegian supplier of drilling solutions, on various contractual matters relating to agreements with branches of one of the largest Russian resource companies.

Elena’s personal data projects include:

  • Developing a roadmap, including a programme to prevent violation of personal data subject’s rights, for the Federal Supervision Agency for Information Technologies and Communications (Roskomnadzor).
  • Developing amendments to the draft law imposing administrative liability for the failure by the personal data operator to perform the obligation to localise personal data bases of Russian nationals in Russia.
  • Providing legal support in personal data processing to a global leader producing corn flour and tortillas, including advice on implementing a global software for working with employees in Russia.
  • Advising one of the world’s leading drilling and engineering contractors on applying the localisation regulation.
  • Advising a leading American higher educational institution on personal data matters in a project for providing online services to Russian students during the pandemic.
  • Advising a major Russian construction company on the legal provisions regulating employee personal data processing.
  • Advising a large global pharmaceutical company on data protection in Russia, Kazakhstan, Georgia, Bulgaria, Moldova and Armenia.
  • Providing legal assistance to a Dutch company dealing with electronic games and cybersport regarding operation of the client’s online platform, including advice on personal data in Russia, analysis and document preparation.
  • Providing legal assistance regarding data protection, specifically, in the context of the localisation regulation, to the world’s leading industrial company, which also included a revision of the client’s internal documents concerning personal data processing.
  • Advising a Japanese computer games producer on the legal regulations governing localisation of personal data of Russian nationals.
  • Providing legal support in relation to the issue of stock options and personal data processing to a leading Japanese e-commerce company.

Elena’s competence and professionalism are distinguished by major international law firm directories, such as Chambers Europe, The Legal 500, and Best Lawyers. Chambers Europe 2021 recommends Elena as a corporate law expert and emphasizes her “business acumen” and “ability to find workable solutions in complex and comprehensive projects.” The Legal 500 2021 recommends Elena as a “Leading Individual” in Commercial, Corporate and M&A: St Petersburg  category. Clients call Elena “a real professional”, highlighting that she shows a deep understanding of not only the law but also her clients’ business.” The ranking also notes her in the Employment section. The leading Russian legal ranking Pravo.ru-300 highly recommends Elena Agaeva in Tier 1 of the M&A and Corporate Law category.

The Best Lawyers international ranking names Elena one of the few experts in the market in corporate governance and compliance. It highly appreciates Elena’s expertise in corporate, employment and migration law, M&A and investment project support. The ranking recognizes Elena as the "Lawyer of the Year" in the regulatory practice.

The ranking also notes her in the Employment section. The Best Lawyers 2021 international ranking recognizes Elena as "Lawyer of the Year" in the corporate practice and recommends her in M&A, corporate governance & compliance, investments, employment and regulatory practice. The leading Russian legal ranking Pravo.ru-300 highly recommends Elena Agaeva in Tier 1 of the M&A and Corporate Law category.

Elena has earned the acknowledgement and a certificate of merit from the St. Petersburg Bar Association for highly professional and conscientious work, along with an award for her successful professional debut in the St. Petersburg Bar.

Elena members the Competence Centre of the Federal Supervision Agency for Information Technologies and Communications (Roskomnadzor) in the “Personal Data” section.

She holds an honours degree from the St. Petersburg Law University

Elena is fluent in English.

КОМАНДА
Елена Агаева
Советник, Руководитель практики слияний и поглощений и корпоративного права (Санкт-Петербург)
Елена Агаева

191186 Россия, C.-Петербург,
Невский пр., д. 24

Тел.: +7 (812) 322 9681
Факс: +7 (812) 322 9682

elena_agaeva@epam.ru

V-card

ПРИЗНАНИЕ

  • Chambers Europe (2014-2021)
  • The Legal 500 (2017-2021)
  • Best Lawyers (2009-2021)
  • IFLR1000 (2019-2021)
  • Коммерсантъ (2022)
  • Право.ru-300 (2021-2022)

« Один из наиболее известных экспертов в области сопровождения сделок и ключевая фигура на местном рынке »

Chambers Europe

Елена оказывает юридическую поддержку по широкому спектру вопросов корпоративного, договорного и трудового права, включая сопровождение M&A-сделок, создание и ликвидацию компаний, реорганизацию бизнеса, найм и увольнение сотрудников, привлечение иностранных работников, проведение юридического аудита, подготовку договоров, текущее сопровождение деятельности клиентов по корпоративным и трудовым вопросам.

Елена также возглавляет направление по защите персональных данных, консультируя международные и национальные компании по вопросам применения российского законодательства о персональных данных, включая вопросы их сбора, локализации и обработки. Она проводит legal due diligence бизнес-процессов и содействует их оптимальному структурированию, осуществляет анализ и подготовку документов по обработке персональных данных, в том числе локальных актов, согласий и договоров, консультирует доверителей по внедрению программного обеспечения по управлению кадрами и клиентскими отношениями, а также представляет интересы клиентов при взаимодействии с государственными органами.

Знаковые проекты Елены в сфере корпоративного права и M&A-сделок включают: 

  • Консультирование ряда международных компаний по вопросам ведения бизнеса в России в условиях внешних и внутренних ограничений.
  • Оказание правовой помощи одному из мировых лидеров по производству оборудования для морской и энергетической отраслей в рамках продажи бизнеса российскому топ-менеджменту.
  • Юридическая поддержка при продаже международной компанией российских активов своему партнеру в РФ.
  • Правовая помощь крупному европейскому производителю молочной продукции по продаже бизнеса российскому партнеру.
  • Оказание правовой помощи крупнейшему международному DIY-ритейлеру по вопросам корпоративного права, комплаенса и возможностям реструктуризации бизнеса.
  • Консультирование крупной финской компании по вопросам реорганизации бизнеса в России.
  • Сопровождение реструктуризации бизнеса «Солнце Мехико» и «Мишн Фудс Ступино» – российских подразделений крупнейшего в мире производителя кукурузной муки, чипсов и тортилий Gruma Group. Работа над проектом включала сопровождение получения статуса резидента особой экономической зоны в связи с инвестированием в строительство завода в Московской области, а также согласование соглашения о ведении деятельности в ОЭЗ c Министерством экономического развития Российской Федерации и другими профильными ведомствами.
  • Консультирование глобальной диверсифицированной технологической компании Clarios, одного из крупнейших поставщиков автозапчастей, электроники и оборудования, осуществляющего свою деятельность в 150 странах, в связи с потенциальным совместным проектом между клиентом и российским партнером.
  • Оказание правовой поддержки одному из крупнейших мировых контейнерных перевозчиков по вопросам создания совместного предприятия в России и вариантам взаимодействия такого СП с другими компаниями группы.
  • Комплексная правовая поддержка компании DynaEnergetics, мирового лидера в производстве и продаже нефтепромыслового оборудования, в комплексном проекте по закрытию завода и продаже дочернего предприятия в Тюменской области.
  • Правовая поддержка FAM AB, крупнейшей шведской холдинговой компании, в ходе трансграничной сделки стоимостью более 580 млн долларов США по приобретению структурного подразделения Sandvik Process Systems. Работа по проекту включала консультирование по российскому праву в ходе структурирования сделки, охватившей 17 юрисдикций, правовую поддержку на протяжении всего проекта, ребрендинга и реструктуризации внутри группы, учреждение нового юридического лица в России, а также юридическое сопровождение локальной компании – структурирование финансирования, поддержка в налаживании бизнес-процессов и взаимодействии с контрагентами.
  • Оказание комплексной правовой поддержки французскому объединению высокотехнологичных предприятий Orolia Group в M&A-сделке в России, включая структурирование сделки, подготовку документов, консультирование по регуляторным, IP и трудовым вопросам.
  • Оказание правовой поддержки Clemco International, крупнейшему в мире американскому производителю пневматического абразивоструйного оборудования для всех отраслей промышленности, по возможным формам ведения бизнеса в России и другим корпоративным направлениям.
  • Консультирование EDS Group AS, норвежского поставщика буровых решений, по различным договорным вопросам в рамках соглашений с филиалами одной из крупнейших российских добывающих компаний.

Среди проектов Елены в сфере персональных данных:

  • Разработка для Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций (Роскомнадзор) «дорожной карты», включающей программу предотвращения нарушения прав субъекта персональных данных.
  • Разработка изменений в законопроект о введении административной ответственности за неисполнение оператором персональных данных обязанности по локализации баз персональных данных российских граждан на территории РФ.
  • Правовая поддержка Gruma Group, мирового лидера по производству кукурузной муки и тортилий, по вопросам обработки персональных данных, включая консультирование по внедрению глобального программного обеспечения для работы с персоналом в России.
  • Консультирование одного из ведущих мировых подрядчиков по бурению и инжинирингу в связи с применением правила о локализации.
  • Консультирование по вопросам персональных данных одного из ведущих американских вузов в ходе проекта по оказанию онлайн-услуг студентам из России в связи с пандемией.
  • Консультирование крупной российской строительной компании по вопросам правовых норм, регулирующих обработку персональных данных сотрудников.
  • Консультирование крупной мировой фармацевтической компании по вопросам защиты данных в России, Казахстане, Грузии, Болгарии, Молдове и Армении.
  • Оказание юридической помощи голландской компании, занимающейся электронными играми и киберспортом, по вопросам функционирования онлайн-платформы клиента, включая консультирование по персональным данным в России, анализ и подготовку документов.
  • Оказание юридической помощи одной из ведущих мировых промышленных компаний по защите данных, в частности, в связи с правилом о локализации, а также переработка внутренней документации клиента по обработке персональных данных.
  • Консультирование японского производителя компьютерных игр по вопросам правового регулирования локализации персональных данных граждан России.
  • Оказание правовой поддержки японскому лидеру в сфере электронной торговли по вопросам выпуска опционов на акции и обработки персональных данных.

Компетенция и профессионализм Елены отмечены такими авторитетными международными рейтингами, как Chambers Europe, The Legal 500, Best Lawyers. Chambers Europe 2021 рекомендует Елену в области корпоративного права и отмечает ее «бизнес-интуицию» и «способность находить эффективные решения в крупных комплексных проектах». The Legal 500 2021 рекомендует Елену как Leading Individual в категории коммерческого и корпоративного права и M&A в Санкт-Петербурге. Клиенты называют Елену «настоящим профессионалом», подчеркивая ее «глубокое понимание не только права, но и бизнеса клиентов». Рейтинг также отмечает Елену в области трудового права. Ведущий российский юридический рейтинг Право.ru-300 рекомендует Елену в 1 группе в сфере слияний и поглощений и корпоративного права.

Елена – один из немногих экспертов на рынке, рекомендованных международным рейтингом Best Lawyers в области корпоративного управления и комплаенса. Издание также высоко оценивает компетенции Елены в таких областях, как корпоративное, трудовое и миграционное право, слияния и поглощения, сопровождение инвестиционных проектов. Рейтинг признает Елену «Юристом года» в области нормативного регулирования.

Имеет благодарность и почетную грамоту Адвокатской палаты Санкт-Петербурга за высокопрофессиональную и добросовестную работу, а также диплом за успешный дебют в петербургской адвокатуре.

Елена является членом Центра компетенций при Федеральной службе по надзору в сфере связи, информационных технологий и массовых коммуникаций (Роскомнадзор) по направлению «Персональные данные».

С отличием окончила Юридический институт (Санкт-Петербург).

Свободно владеет английским языком.

Новости

Показать больше